Hit a weight loss plateau

Options
For the last few weeks, since Nov 13, I've been hovering around the same weight 278. I've been dieting on and off since 2012, but really got serious in May 2014. I came from 365. In efforts to drop pounds, I usually do about 40 - 60 mins of cardio a day (treadmill between 4.0 & 4.4 speed, 12-15 incline) and about 10-15 minutes of weights. I'm logging my calories and coming under most of the time, but now it seems as if I'm at a stand still. Does anyone have any suggestions? Any feedback is appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Replies

• astrose00
    astrose00 Posts: 754 Member
    edited December 2014
    Options
    Have you lowered your calorie allotment in light of your smaller size? Make sure you are accurately logging and measuring your food. Anything solid should be weighed, not measured in a cup.

10-15 minutes of weight training seem slike a little bit to me. Be honest, are you really pushing yourself with the weights you are lifting or is it "easy". I've read that you should be doing weights that allow anywhere from 6-15 repetitions before failure. If you can do more than that in one set, the weight is not heavy enough. Maybe switch your workout around. If time is an issue, do less cardio and more weights. It could be that you've lost a lot of muscle and your metabolism isn't as efficient.

How much protein do you eat? Try boosting it in addition to increased weight training.