I can't believe my eyes!!

Options
I brought a Polar HRM and used it for the first time yesterday. I did Turbo Jam for 40 minutes and it says I burnt 185 calories, I have been using MFP to calculate my calories burnt for the last 4 months, which states that Turbo Jam burns 499 calories in 40 minutes, Well now I know why I have been losing weight so slowly and why for 3 weeks I didn’t lose anything.

I have been eating to many calories thinking I had lots to spare ;-(. So folks if you haven’t got one already please buy a HRM with Calories burnt!!! Next I need to buy a scale for portion control!!!

Replies

• Jorra
    Jorra Posts: 3,338 Member
    Options
    That is quite a shock! You've convinced me that I should get one. Only about a month until I can afford it. :P
  • sixpacking
    sixpacking Posts: 148 Member
    Options
    worthy investments: HRM with chest strap, food scale, measuring spoons, measuring cups.
  • tgh1914
    tgh1914 Posts: 1,036 Member
    Options
    I went thru that exact same realization in the middle of my first round of P90X. The estimates just don't cut it (pun intended) for most of us.
  • Charlea1981
    Charlea1981 Posts: 72 Member
    Options
    Measuring spoons and cups LOL, never heard of them!!!
  • TiffanyW1014
    TiffanyW1014 Posts: 614 Member
    Options
    I agree. I was way off on my figuring before I got my HRM. I love it and I have been able to stay on track since!
  • Minnie_Moo
    Minnie_Moo Posts: 239 Member
    Options
    I've been using my digital scale which calculates nutritional info as well as my measuring spoons and cups......but I think I have the same problem with the calories being burned vs. what I am eating back :frown: