After losing weight will I gain it back...

Options
if I go from moderately active to mostly sedentary?
I plan on becoming a truck driver. I have lost a lot of weight after having been obese pretty much all my life. I am the kind of person who if I slip up I will gain weight. I'm currently a line cook so my job is a little physical, as well as go to the gym a couple days a week for a half hour to an hour each time. As a truck driver I plan on trying to keep my calories at or a little below than what's recommended for my weight, as well as trying to get at least 30 min exercise daily. But as you can imagine that will really be it in terms of physical activity. Am I bound to gain the weight back? Or if I keep my diet in check and try to get some exercise in I will be fine? Thanks!!!

Replies

• gothchiq
    gothchiq Posts: 4,590 Member
    Options
    What you have to do is to go on your MFP setting and change your activity level to "sedentary" when you change to driving. Then it will set you a lower amount of calories and you'll need to stick to that, and get what exercise you can, in order not to gain it back.
  • cosmichvoyager
    cosmichvoyager Posts: 237 Member
    Options
    only time will tell but if you're transitioning to a driving job--concentrate on improving your posture and strengthening your core to protect your back. Disc herniations are very common in people who drive for work and they can be debilitating.

The biggest favor you can do for yourself is commit to stretching and strengthening every day, even just for 10 minutes. Bring a yoga mat with you so you can stretch anywhere. Some good exercises are heel taps, leg raises, supermans, dead bug, bird dog. I think most of these are on youtube. Just remember to draw in your upper and lower abdominal muscles and your butt when you do them.
  • bigfran92
    Options