Sciatica help

Options
I have had severe sciatica for a month now and I am slowly starting to recover with antiinflammatories, chiropractor and a variety of other treatments. Prior to this I ran 1/2 marathons and went to the gym for weight work at least 3x week, my issue is I don't know how I did it and I am really scared to start excercising and running again incase it flares up. I am going crazy not being active! Anyone ever suffer from this? Any advice you can give for beginning to excercise again would be much appreciated. I have heard from others to work more on my core so I will be speaking to a trainer about this in the new year. I am really nervous to do anything!

Replies

• 47Jacqueline
    47Jacqueline Posts: 6,993 Member
    Options
    I believe in chiropractors and actually see one every month as a maintenance routine because I am a personal trainer and group fitness instructor, but sciattica should be treated by an orthopedist and with physical therapy if it's serious. Once you're cleared for exercise on your own they will give you guidelines that a trainer can work with.
  • mustgetmuscles1
    mustgetmuscles1 Posts: 3,346 Member
    Options
    I do this about twice per week and have not had a problem since. I think it is the ball that helps the most but the whole routine is worth doing. I just use a baseball though.

• GaleHawkins
    GaleHawkins Posts: 8,160 Member
    Options
    I believe in chiropractors and actually see one every month as a maintenance routine because I am a personal trainer and group fitness instructor, but sciattica should be treated by an orthopedist and with physical therapy if it's serious. Once you're cleared for exercise on your own they will give you guidelines that a trainer can work with.

Sounds like a good thought.

• mykaylis
    mykaylis Posts: 320 Member
    Options