Starting an exercise routine during pregnancy?

Options
I'm currently 14 weeks pregnant and am only just starting to feel human again!! Prior to getting pregnant I was doing ok, I was mostly using the gym for workouts.

I'd have a warm up on the treadmill and then do a bit of a circuit routine, doing weighted squats, lunges, some kettlebell work, box jumps etc. Then around 15 minutes on the rowing machine before cooling down.

But since the nausea and tiredness hit me at around 5 weeks, I have done NOTHING!!! I started to feel a little better around three weeks ago but then caught a cold that developed in to a chest infection.

I'm just about better now and thinking that I need to start doing something. I've not gained any weight yet which my midwife said is fine and she said that she is happy for me to continue working out.

But how do I get back in to it? Should I be aiming to try and do what I was doing before? Or should I be starting out like a total beginner and taking it easy?

What exercise routines have other people followed during pregnancy?

Replies

• sheepotato
    sheepotato Posts: 600 Member
    Options
    There's a group of active moms over here, community.myfitnesspal.com/en/group/1903-fit-fabulous-pregnant

The first trimester is hard, there were several days during weeks 6-12 where I just slept when I wasn't vomiting. I got back into normal exercise by week 13, it was when I was finally able to hold down enough food to keep up my energy.

I've swam laps and walked during most of my pregnancy. I wasn't confident enough in my strength training routine to continue it during pregnancy so I put it on hold until after I have her.

There are a few in the group that have kept up with their strength training routines, they might be able to help with your questions.
  • helenjn
    helenjn Posts: 24 Member
    Options