Walking w/o stroller burns more calories than with stroller?

Options
How come in MFP walking at a "leisurely pace, 2.5mph" burns more calories per hour than pushing a stroller with child? I would think the opposite would be true.

I went on a 2-hour stroller walk yesterday and put in "walking at a leisurely pace" at first, then I found the walking with stroller but it didn't burn as many calories. Is that a glitch or true?

Yes I'm a newbie. ha.

Replies

• leggup
    leggup Posts: 2,942 Member
    edited December 2014
    Options
    Walking burns calories because it is weight-bearing exercise- you have to lift your body weight with every step. With a stroller, the additional weight goes down through the wheels. It's the same reason that holding on to the treadmill while walking on it burns fewer calories than not holding on to the machine.

You may offset the difference if you are going up hills/on rough terrain. It's all an estimate, though, and not terribly accurate as it is not accounting for elevation changes or heart rate.

Edited to add: there's also the momentum of the stroller assisting you, reducing your calorie burn.
  • jimmmer
    jimmmer Posts: 3,515 Member
    Options
    I would hazard that *if* you walk the same speed doing both activities, then you'll burn more pushing a pram. But I reckon the difference is probably marginal (especially in the context of your overall daily calorie usage...)

When I'm stomping around with the pram, I'm going top speed and feel the hills more than walking without one. That's highly subjective though - perhaps I'm going faster than I normally walk?

At least it's an activity with progressive resistance built in, since they're steadily getting heavier as time goes by...
  • FitPhillygirl
    FitPhillygirl Posts: 7,124 Member
    Options
    If you want to burn more calories while walking you need to increase your speed in order to get your heart rate up.
  • JoRocka
    JoRocka Posts: 17,525 Member
    Options