Your Number One tip to get me going?

Options
Hi, I'm a newbie since today, so Happy New Year to everyone! I'm from Bristol, UK, and certainly need all the motivational friends I can get. I would like to lose 30 lbs by end-April 2015. When I retired I set up my own little business making cupcakes and wedding cakes and and I'm finding it really difficult stop nibbling (I call it 'tasting') while I'm baking. And of course I keep making excuses not to exercise. Getting desperate now, so what's the Number One thing that will get me going - and keep me on the right track?

Replies

• Ninkyou
    Ninkyou Posts: 6,666 Member
    Options
    Start by logging everything that goes into your mouth.
  • fobs13
    fobs13 Posts: 1,080 Member
    Options
    Eat less move nore
  • canoepug56
    canoepug56 Posts: 161 Member
    Options
    kayjaytwo wrote: »
    and and I'm finding it really difficult stop nibbling And of course I keep making excuses not to exercise.

This and this
  • queenliz99
    queenliz99 Posts: 15,317 Member
    Options
    Calories in versus calories out.
  • randomtai
    randomtai Posts: 9,003 Member
    Options
    Stop making excuses.
  • xbted
    xbted Posts: 41 Member
    Options
    After a while, the mere sight of cupcakes will make you want to vomit. I know, my first job was at a bakery and 20 years later, I still can't eat donuts. However, until you build up your pastry immunity, I'd say take a little step outside when you're feeling tempted. If you're a compulsive taster like I was, get one of those surgical face masks, and you'll realize that you're about to eat something when you pull it down to have a nibble (this doesn't work so well if you're working in the open, people will think you have Ebola or something.) But seriously one other thing- orange juice (or grapefruit juice.) Everything tastes terrible after drinking orange juice, so sip some every now and then.
  • Azurite27
    Azurite27 Posts: 554 Member
    Options