Weight loss tips?

Options
I started up on MFP a few days ago and according to the website i should be eating 1280 calories a day.. before i go on, can I ask isn't this a bit low?

Anyway.. what can I do to lose weight, currently I walk 24 mins to school every day and back (burns 149 cals i think) but because I've been doing this for 6 years i don't think this really helps a lot with weight loss. So what can i do? I'm planning to go on the treadmill like 20 minutes a day. However, I don't want to calorie count or anything as I don't want to get obsessed, as I did before and it only lasted a week and i gave up.

But my main thing is is that i really want to lose like 10lbs by july (2 months) but I have exams so wont have A LOT of time to exercise, so are there any small tips, like drinking a certain amount of water? Or eating a certain amount of a particular fruit?

And... last thing, is there a fun way to lose weight.. including chocolate as I want the weight loss to last :)

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance :)

Replies

• LillysGranny
    LillysGranny Posts: 431
    Options
    Make sure you drink plenty of water and get plenty of fiber -- like 30-35 grams/day (even if that is over your reccommended amount). Find something fun to do that is a little more intense -- try a Zumba class or tennis or sprint interals. I know how tough it is to balance school and a healthy life. I work 2 jobs and am currently taking 2 classes (on quarters, so a whole semester's worth of work in 10 weeks). It is tough, but I still find time to exercise about an hour a day 6 days a week. You can do it, you just have to figure out where you're wasting time and try to get all those little bits lumped up together so you can have a good workout. Good luck!
  • olyrose
    olyrose Posts: 569 Member
    Options
    1280 might be low, but you could have it set to lose 2 lbs a week. If you adjust that, it could increase your calories.