is chili made w turkey still bad for dieting?

Options

Replies

• kommodevaran
    kommodevaran Posts: 17,890 Member
    Options
    I make chili with minced lamb and lose weight.
  • Phoenix_Down
    Phoenix_Down Posts: 530 Member
    Options
    thank you all for the replies. i was just curious because a few people from work have told me that chili isnt a good diet meal... im pretty new to this all so i dont really know what to eat. right now im just trying to stay away from bad carbs and maintain 1200 cals

Good news, there's no such thing as bad carbs either. What matters is eating at a calorie deficit and finding foods you enjoy that leave you satiated. I lost 53 lbs still fitting in things like fast food, pizza, ice cream.

It really is that simple. The hard part is making sure you're being diligent with logging everything. :)
  • HeySwoleSister
    HeySwoleSister Posts: 1,938 Member
    Options
    thank you all for the replies. i was just curious because a few people from work have told me that chili isnt a good diet meal... im pretty new to this all so i dont really know what to eat. right now im just trying to stay away from bad carbs and maintain 1200 cals

Well, now you know....don't take nutritional advice from your coworkers!

Your question does bring us to one of my favorite things on MFP -- the recipe calculator! I am a mom feeding a family of 5, so I cook big meals, not single portions. Putting my recipes in the calculator and saving them lets me log what I eat really easily.

(And, yeah, my vegan chili is one of my favorite things to have on hand. it's GREAT for a filling, low cal meal with tons of protein. )
  • Mr_Knight
    Mr_Knight Posts: 9,532 Member
    Options
    EWJLang wrote: »

Yeah!

Take advice from random anonymous people on an internet chat board instead!

:smiley:
  • HeySwoleSister
    HeySwoleSister Posts: 1,938 Member
    Options
    Mr_Knight wrote: »
    EWJLang wrote: »

Yeah!