Exercise Points and Cheat days

Options
Hello!

I am new to Fitness Pal. In the past, I have used Weight Watchers, but decided to give Fitness Pal a try since it is free. On weight watchers, your exercise points accumulated in a bank that you could use at anytime throughout the week. There was also a bank of "weekly points" that you could use any day throughout the week. I think the goal was so you could have your cheat day, but still be held accountable for the number of calories you consume - i.e. don't eat 6 BigMacs in one day. I am wondering how to use this method within Fitness Pal. I notice that I am accumulating a lot of extra calories each day based on my exercise classes and my fitbit, but I would like to "save" them for a cheat day on the weekend. Has anyone tried this? Has anyone gone from Weight Watchers to Fitness Pal and know what I am talking about?

Would love to hear any helpful and positive advice! :)
Jessica

Replies

• IsaackGMOON
    IsaackGMOON Posts: 3,358 Member
    Options
    I've seen an extension for Chrome, or it might be Mozilla which adds the weight watchers points to the MFP food section. It seems like a nice transition, but switching over will be ok.

• StaciMarie1974
    StaciMarie1974 Posts: 4,138 Member
    Options
    Figure out what works for you and go with it.

Personally when I was losing I'd occasionally have a day where I ate at maintenance. That +500 calories (when I was aiming for 1 pound a week) opened up a lot of possibilities for me.

If you want to 'bank' exercise calories you could always log them on certain days of the week. Like fast forward to Sat/Sun and log them there. If you want them to show on the day you intend to use them.
  • MaryCS62
    MaryCS62 Posts: 266 Member
    Options