Help

Options
ok so im new to this about 2 weeks and i feel like a complete failure. im really struggling to keep to my calorie allowance and seem to go over by about 100 calories give or take but i still feel hungry i have cut down alot because im not eating when i feel hungry where as i used to just grab something to eat normally junk as soon as i felt hungry. did anyone else have this problem when they first joined? and does anyone have any ideas on how i can combat the hungry feeling i always seem to have xx

Replies

• ceri1980
    ceri1980 Posts: 92 Member
    Options
    Hello and welcome to MFP....

It will take your body a few weeks to adjust to your new eating habits but you will find that your stomach will shrink a bit and you will start to feel fuller sooner. Try and eat foods that keep you fuller for longer, i find weetabix or porrifge for breakfast keeps me going until lunchtime then something like chicken at lunchtime.

Keep a bottle of water with you wherever you go and remember to keep filling it up.....a lot of people mistake hunger for just being thirsty.

I would advise you to keep busy as well, i find this helps me lots.

Ceri x
  • Atlantique
    Atlantique Posts: 2,484 Member
    Options
    When I started here, I didn't make any changes at all for the first week. That week, I simply logged what I was eating and it wasn't pretty.

From there, I tried to make a change or two each week so I wouldn't get overwhelmed. So maybe one week you try to prepare more food at home. the next week you work on getting more vegetables into your diet, and so on. That way you are building better habits but you don't make such drastic changes that you're overwhelmed.

Also, consider changing your weight loss goal. If you originally signed up to lose 2 lbs per week, try re-setting your goal to losing 1lb per week. This will give you another 500 calories per day and may help to ease your transition.