Filling foods that will keep me full for a long time? Suggestions?

Options
I am a newbie and would greatly appreciate any suggestions on foods that have worked for others in this area. Thank you!

Replies

• Christine_72
    Christine_72 Posts: 16,049 Member
    Options
    Eggs are my go to for keeping me full. I scramble 3-4 eggs, add bok choy, cherry tomatoes and mushrooms. I often have this for dinner, and I'm stuffed for the rest of the night.
  • sheepotato
    sheepotato Posts: 600 Member
    Options
    Food that are high in protein, dietary fiber or healthy fats.

I personally find foods like chicken breast, beans, peas, dark leafy greens, sweet potatoes, squashes, avocados, and quinoa to be very filling.
  • BWBTrish
    BWBTrish Posts: 2,817 Member
    Options
    your welcome to explore my diary..... I am never really hungry Except for the first 2 weeks when i started.

3 or 4 days i had a "hungry" feeling. But recognized it soon as more "a habit/wanting to eat" feeling.

Lots of veggies/fruit and proteins do the trick for me.
  • fixmyself
    Options
    I definitely agree with the protein statement! Protein is the main thing that keeps you fill since it's harder to digest. My go to snack is usually a handful of almonds!
  • Holla4mom
    Holla4mom Posts: 587 Member
    Options
    Soups fill me up. I boil chicken and make a delicious stock. When it's done I shred the chicken, add kale and other vegetables and beans. It's high fiber, high protein, has liquid ("eating" your water can be very filling) and nutrient dense.
  • LiveLoveRunFar
    LiveLoveRunFar Posts: 176 Member
    Options
    Eggs definitely. I can have eggs in the morning and stay full all the way thru to a late lunch. Tuna also fills me up. Chia bars are my filling snacks...they are little but for some reason are filling. And drink lots of water in case your are not really hungry just thirsty!
  • detroitchuck
    Options