Does anyone lose weight then gain it right back on a day to day basis?

Options
I've been logging on MFP on and off for about 4 years now. I initially lost around 30 pounds in 2012 my first time logging, which was great! I fell off that wagon and gained 40 back since then. I've been trying to get that weight off, but it's hard lol! Well, I've been on a streak- 5 days that is. And my initial loss was great (1.5 lbs). But today yesterday I stepped on the scale and I had gained 1 lb back. Today I stepped on it again and I had gained it all but .2 back. What gives? Anyone know how to combat this? I feel like it happens every time I get serious about losing weight...then I get discouraged! Let me know your story and how you successfully beat this phenomenon :#

Replies

• Phrick
    Phrick Posts: 2,765 Member
    Options
    It's 100% common. Daily fluctuations happen to everyone, for some people as much as 7,8, even 10 pounds! It depends on many factors - or a combination of them - such as if you ate a high sodium meal recently, if you've added or changed your exercise routine at all, how hydrated you are, when the last time you pooped was, and as a woman, where you are in your menstrual cycle makes a difference as well.

If seeing fluctuations on a daily basis makes you discouraged, then don't weigh daily! If you can't handle the "up 0.7, up 1 lb, down 1.5, up 2.6" nature of the daily weigh in, you'll be much better served by weighing in only weekly or even less often.
  • hazleyes81
    hazleyes81 Posts: 296 Member
    Options