Too Much Protein???

Options
My recommended calculations set my protein intake goal to 60... but I keep going over that. Plus now that I'm looking at other diaries it looks like 60 is kind of low. Any thoughts? I'm new to this and honestly am completely lost. :neutral_face:

Replies

• alogan08
    Options
    Hi

The nutritionist that I am working with says to shoot for 60-80 grams of protein per day.
    Good luck!

Andrea
  • alyhuggan
    alyhuggan Posts: 717 Member
    Options
    The general rule is around one gram of protein per pound of body weight!
  • Chelise74
    Options
    Can you have too much protein and will it cause weight gain if so?
  • ovinas1
    ovinas1 Posts: 413 Member
    Options
    People who just exercise and do not diet should aim to consume somewhere around 0.8-1 grams of protein per pound of bodyweight daily.

If you're dieting and exercising, aim higher—between 1-1.5 grams of protein per pound of your bodyweight per day. As your caloric intake decreases, your protein needs will actually increase, so keep that in mind as you plan out your diet.

Focus on eating high-quality protein sources such as chicken, fish, lean red meat, eggs, low-fat dairy products, and quality whey protein powder.
  • Hornsby
    Hornsby Posts: 10,322 Member
    Options
    alyhuggan wrote: »

1 gram per pound of lean body mass, not body weight.
  • erickirb
    erickirb Posts: 12,293 Member
    Options
    MFP sets protein really low, 15% of total cals. I would suggest, if you don't know your BF% put your protein to 0.75-0.8 grams per lb of body weight
  • mommyvo23
    mommyvo23 Posts: 22 Member
    Options
    1 gram per pound of lean body mass, not body weight.[/quote]

This
  • tibby531
    tibby531 Posts: 717 Member
    Options