New batteries or new HRM?

Options
twooliver
twooliver Posts: 450 Member
I have a Polar F6...bought it a couple of years ago and started using it religiously around the first of Feb. It is now giving me problems...for instance; my HRM use to calculate more calories burned than the treadmill did; now it is over 40 calories lower than the treadmill for a 30 min walk. I've also noticed my heart rate being erratic on the display - sometimes 0 sometimes over 200...so I no longer trust what it says about how many calories I'm burning. Yes, I've adjusted my weight as I've lost and tightened the strap - doesn't seem to help.

so do I need new batteries or just invest in a new HRM?

thanks!

Replies

• Angela4Health
    Angela4Health Posts: 1,319 Member
    Options
    Bump... I'm having somewhat of the same problem with my Polar FT4. I have been using it for about 2 months now, and I have used it alot! The last couple of weeks it's calculating my heart rate much lower than it did before, doing the same activities and exerting myself just as hard. I don't think I suddenly got THAT more fit, ya know? I'm wondering what is going on.
  • RProhofsky
    RProhofsky Posts: 32 Member
    Options
    Battery! Battery will cause those problems even before the indicator shows low battery.
  • sassylilmama
    sassylilmama Posts: 1,495 Member
    Options
    Haven't had it happen myself but have seen people say they ran into this and had to tighten the strap. With their weight loss it wasn't tight enough to get a good read anymore.
  • McKayMachina
    McKayMachina Posts: 2,670 Member
    Options
    I'm willing to bet the battery is MUCH cheaper than any new HRM. :laugh:

You kind of answered your own question on this one. :tongue:
  • jmijaressf
    jmijaressf Posts: 215
    Options
    It's either the battery or your Wearlink. Try replacing the battery first. If that doesn't work then you need a new Wearlink strap.
  • JenBrown0210
    JenBrown0210 Posts: 985 Member
    Options