Fitbit..please help me

Options
magsmichelle
magsmichelle Posts: 34 Member
edited January 2015 in Health and Weight Loss
0qpgtruj23so.jpg
Ugh. Could this be correct or do you think my fitbit is buggy?

I am a nurse and am moving around the majority of my day, but 1000 extra calories??

I'm about to throw this thing in a drawer.

Replies

• magsmichelle
    Options
    I've eaten close to 1400 already and do not feel at all hungry. I have 900 calories left though.
  • maidentl
    maidentl Posts: 3,203 Member
    Options
    How many steps did you have for the day?
  • magsmichelle
    Options
    maidentl wrote: »

I am on my feet the majority of my shift but 1100 extra calories seems really crazy to me.
  • redwoodkestrel
    redwoodkestrel Posts: 339 Member
    Options
    22K steps will *definitely* earn you an extra 1000+ calories! That's about 11 miles of walking!

Trust the Fitbit - I've had mine for a year and have lost 100 lbs using it synced with MFP. Eat 50-75% of the calories back to account for some over-estimation.
  • higgins8283801
    higgins8283801 Posts: 844 Member
    Options
    maidentl wrote: »

I am on my feet the majority of my shift but 1100 extra calories seems really crazy to me.

Your fitbit isn't just based on exercise calories. If you are on your feet and moving you're going to need more calories than had you been planted in a chair.

What is your level set like on mfp? You may have miscalculated how active you are, and what you're seeing on fitbit is what you'd see daily with the right activity level selected.

22,000 steps is a lot though. That's over 10 miles. You need to fuel that.

• IILikeToMoveItMoveIt
    IILikeToMoveItMoveIt Posts: 1,172 Member
    Options