Help starting an exercise routine

Options
mjtbb
mjtbb Posts: 77 Member
I'm a newbie here. I have been logging in for about a month. I started losing my water weight easily enough but now I seem to be stuck. My metabolism is next to negative since I haven't exercised in many many years. After reading blogs and posts I realized that even if I don't like it I will have to do something even if minimal.

I have both hips replaced (twice now) and my right shoulder which never worked right since (or before) (I can't raise it higher than my chest) so I have been away from anything too strenous. My first hip replacement was on 1990 when I was 24 because of rheumatoid arthritis (I'm 47 now). My weight increased steadily after that. I was never the athlete kind but I was active enough to not have any weight issues before RA. I'm aware that I need to excercise anyway but with all this weight I'm carrying around now, even walking can be quite difficult for me at times. One of the reasons I needed to lose weight is because the joint and muscle pain has reached my pain threshold and I'm getting worse. Interestingly enough, since I started eating better, I feel more energy but I'm still having my annoying hip pain at the end of the day which gives me an excuse to not try exercising. What little I do in the Wii seems like so small it doesn't seem worth it.
Today I did a second day in a row in the wii and "workout" for an hour which is more than yesterday with half hour. but it seems like pennies of calories compared with a real workout.