Hungry for more out of my calories. Seeking filling food suggestions.

Options
I can't be the only person who is starving 2 ish hours after a well balanced meal that was portioned correctly. I want more out of my calories. I'm pretty new at the 1200 cal limitation and I am not argue with the results. However, my screaming growler is constantly hinting that enough isn't actually enough. Arbitrary snacking is a slippery slope for me and with all the opportunities for failure surrounding my life, I want to avoid pushing the limits of my deep inner strength. Does anyone have a food suggestion that can truly stretch a meal with out stretching my cal allotment?

Replies

• Francl27
    Francl27 Posts: 26,371 Member
    Options
    First 1200 is too low a goal for most people. You should eat back your exercise calories.

Second, less 'empty' carbs (bread, cereal etc), more protein, fat, and veggies.
  • ranso1472
    Options
    Yes second that good carbs oats sweet pot etc veg and protein
  • beemerphile1
    beemerphile1 Posts: 1,710 Member
    Options
    That is a tough calorie goal. It doesn't allow for much packaged/processed food. You should do most of your shopping in the produce and meat sections as they give the most volume per calorie.
  • SandyBVTN
    SandyBVTN Posts: 367 Member
    Options
    I eat 1200 to 1300 cals most days and I do find it takes quite a bit of care to stay in that range. One big meal or high calorie snack can derail the whole day. I'm not saying 1200 is right for you, I don't know your stats/needs/lifestyle and I'm not an expert, but here's some things I do to keep around 1200:

I focus on protein (low fat cottage cheese, beans, chicken breast are my favourites)
    I budget my calories like money, and preplan for most of my meals
    I drink zero calorie stevia sweetened beverages, and tea and coffee throughout the day
    Lots of water