Weight Loss Troubles

Hello Everyone,

I'm pretty new to all this (started Dec. 29). In my first month, I lost 28.8 pounds through a combination of diet and exercise and I'm hoping to lose a total of 60 pounds by the end of February. I know that may be unrealistic, but I figured I'd rather be disappointed with a high goal by losing 40-50 during this period than set a lower goal and lose that. Anyways, between diet and exercise, I'm supposed to be losing between 0.5 pounds and 1 pound every day (it varies based on my diet) but for the past three days I haven't changed at all. I am usually below the max for 4 of the 6 main things myfitnesspal monitors (calories, sugar, etc...) and I'm consuming 1400-2000 calories per day with 1400-3000 burned per day through indoor cycling. Is there just some massive delay in recognizing weight loss now or is there something I'm doing wrong?

Best,

Dan

Replies

• jemhh
    jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
    What was your starting weight?
  • 284 pounds. In the next year, I'd like to go down to 130-145 if possible.
  • superkiki
    superkiki Posts: 7 Member
    Wow you are doing a lot better than me. I started at the end of December and have only lost 3.5 lbs and its like I'm frozen at my current weight. I use a Fitbit and count calories and even cut out all my sugar. My body must be in shock or something. But no new weight loss happening. I've noticed my body is reshaping quite nicely with all my exercise, which is nice, although I want to see results at the scales!
  • jemhh
    jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
    Even at that starting weight, your goal is beyond unreasonable. A pound is roughly equal to 3500 caloried. There is no healthy way to incur a 1750-3500 calorie deficit every day. How much are you cycling?