Confused

Options
I've been doing MFP for over 2 years I've lost 34 pounds the problem is in the last 3 months I have gained 10 pounds and can not lose them. I'm 44 year old female and I'm very frustrated! Any ideas what is going on or what I can do!

Replies

• Laurend224
    Laurend224 Posts: 1,748 Member
    Options
    You are no longer eating in a deficit. How has your logging been? Did you recently have a change in activity?
  • BrittanieGo
    BrittanieGo Posts: 60 Member
    Options
    Have you had labs done? Any change in medication, thyroid, pregnancy?
  • atypicalsmith
    atypicalsmith Posts: 2,742 Member
    Options
    You are eating more calories than you are losing. Simple as that.
  • Liftng4Lis
    Liftng4Lis Posts: 15,150 Member
    Options
    Can you open your diary?
  • tigerblue
    tigerblue Posts: 1,525 Member
    Options
    Exact same thing happened to me 3 years ago (I'm 47 now!). It was like suddenly the rules changed. I am still healthy weight now (barely) but I gained 18 lbs back!

I suspect hormonal fluctuations. Your metabolism has slowed for whatever reason and now what was a deficit is no longer. So likely you will have to eat less. :(

I'm so sorry. this is a difficult journey for women of our age. Friend me. I don't have answers, but I will share what I've been trying, and what has and hasn't helped.
  • RodaRose
    RodaRose Posts: 9,562 Member
    Options
    Are you using a food scale? :expressionless:
  • GaleHawkins
    GaleHawkins Posts: 8,160 Member
    Options
    atcrooms wrote: »
    I've been doing MFP for over 2 years I've lost 34 pounds the problem is in the last 3 months I have gained 10 pounds and can not lose them. I'm 44 year old female and I'm very frustrated! Any ideas what is going on or what I can do!

After years of yo yo weight 4 months ago I cut out sugar and other processed carbs and I have lost 20 more pounds of a weight regain after a 30 pound lose in 2011.

• MommaJ15
    MommaJ15 Posts: 2 Member