What do you think of 100% Whey by CytoSport?

Options

Replies

• iwishiwasbatman
    Options
    We measured my body fat and it came out to 19.5%, whats an lbm?
  • blankiefinder
    blankiefinder Posts: 3,599 Member
    Options
    lean body mass. I'm no expert, but I agree, you need to work on adding muscle. When you lose weight, you lose fat AND muscle, you'll just end up 'skinny fat' though at your weight, you're already there.
  • iwishiwasbatman
    Options
    Thanks to both.

So you'd recommend to gain weight, ya?
    Would that burn fat and build muscle too?
    My workout consists of weight lifting (upper body) 3 times a week plus 10 - 20 minutes of running, and abs and lower body 2 times a week, would this still be a good workout even if I gain weight or would I need to change it up?
  • psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,404 MFP Moderator
    Options
    MrM27 wrote: »
    We measured my body fat and it came out to 19.5%, whats an lbm?

It's not 19.5%

LBM = lean body mass. Which includes muscle. You lack the muscle.

This is what I am thinking.

• psuLemon
    Options
    Thanks to both.

My workout consists of weight lifting (upper body) 3 times a week plus 10 - 20 minutes of running, and abs and lower body 2 times a week, would this still be a good workout even if I gain weight or would I need to change it up?

Drop your current routine for a well designed program. Look at full body routines that work a lot of the major muscle groups. Maybe one like the lean muscle diet could be beneficial. But generally, you want to work upper and lower body so you have balance.

In terms of diet, up your calories until you start gaining weight at .5 to 1lb per week. Protein should be around 1g. per lb of desired lean body mass.

But before you do anything, spend a week or two looking at programs and getting knowledgeable.

• cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,867 Member
    Options