seriously??!! moms with little ones, help!

Options
I am pretty new to mfp and love it! I have a 6 month old baby that won't breastfeed but i pump and give it to him in a bottle...thats a long story buuuut...my problem is i am pumping about 40 ounces per day and just recently found breastfeeding in the database. According to that, i should be logging it and getting an extra 800 calories PLUS i am working out 5 days a week and strength training at least 3 days a week. Needless to say, i just cant believe that i'm supposed to eat as many calories as mfp is suggesting! I understand not wanting to eat too few calories and all but 2330/ day??? I cant believe it! I'm set at 1230/day then i'm supposed to eat back my 800 calories from pumping, then since i excersize, at least 300 calories which i am way underestimating since i do 1hour cardio or crosstraining or circuits and then dont even count strength training. Any other moms that are either breastfeeding or pumping have the same questions i do? Did you lose weight still eating that much? I'm within 8 lbs of my goal and finding it hard with trying to eat healthy, non processed foods to get in enough calories. Your help is much appreciated!

Replies

• catcrazy
    catcrazy Posts: 1,740 Member
    Options
    no, I wouldn't count 800 calories...most places recommend 200-500 extra but never go below 1500 so try 1500, if you feel your milk supply is suffering add in 100 quality calories not forgetting to keep your fluid up.

http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/mom/mom-calories-fluids.html
  • ChubbieTubbie
    ChubbieTubbie Posts: 481 Member
    Options
    Breastfeeding doesn't burn 800 calories a day, it's more like between 300-500, depending on frequency. I would definitely eat those back, or you may see a drop in supply. I wouldn't eat my exercise calories back.
  • chermo42
    chermo42 Posts: 2
    Options