GOOD or BAD: my body wants 40% fat in my diet to stay satiated

Options
2»

Replies

• Raynne413
    Raynne413 Posts: 1,527 Member
    Options
    I've been a long time yo-yo dieter, and I've always (blindly) followed what the diet industry said - so I've never been one to add oil to my meals. I'd focus on carbs and protein and I'd always seem to be ravenous, especially after eating things like whole grains and potatoes. As a result, I'm 5'3" and up to 160lbs, and I have a lot of extra fat on right now. My husband recently revealed that he adds oil when he cooks for us, and on those nights, he notices I don't snack as much.

So, I started playing around with my macros and was surprised to find that my body wants FAT. If I put my macros around 40% fat (via nuts, seeds, avocados, and coconut oil), I tend to not constantly feel hungry, for once in my life!!!

I found this weird as I've always been told not to add oils, but it feels really amazing to not constantly be hungry, and to be satiated after eating a normal sized portion of food - which has significantly decreased my food obsession issues.

Has anyone else experienced this? Is it okay to eat this much fat, especially with ~30lbs of fat to lose? I'm keeping my calories around 1500-1600 per day. Protein is at 20-25% and carbs are at 35-40%

I tend to keep my fats around 35% or above. I've had issues with an eating disorder, and I've found that the higher my fats are, the less likely I am to binge.

• jgnatca
    jgnatca Posts: 14,464 Member
    Options
    I think you've found a marvelous discovery. Go with it, and enjoy it!
  • sandryc79
    sandryc79 Posts: 250 Member
    Options
    I go "over" on fat all the time and I care not what MFP says to me about it. I feel full, eat less and am losing weight. Like you I mostly get them from "healthy" sources like nuts, avacado, olive oil, eggs, etc.