Lifting while losing weight

Options
I have lost 16 pounds in 40 days. I feel like this is a good pace and I want it to continue. I have a goal weight of about 190 and I am currently 254 so I have a good amount of weight to still lose. I want to lose this weight and then work on bulking and lifting but everyone advises me to lift while losing the weight. I started lifting last week and will continue this however I was wondering if this would hinder the pace of my weight loss. I’m all for being stronger however dropping this weight is top priority. Would cardio be a better alternative to lifting or should I make it a point to implement more cardio before/after lifting.

Replies

• EvanKeel
    EvanKeel Posts: 1,904 Member
    Options
    lifting in a deficit is not going to hinder fat loss. Initially you may notice some weight gain (or lack of loss) as a result fluid retention and muscle repair. Lifting while in a deficit, particularly large deficits, will help maintain muscle mass.

Cardio is useful for health reasons, but if you're losing without doing any cardio, then there's no reason to start doing it...Unless you enjoy it.
  • october_rusticle
    Options
    Cardio will certainly help your weight loss to a larger degree than weights but there is no reason you can't do both. Only snag is to bulk up using weights (as opposed to improving muscle tone and strength) you need to be eating a lot of calories in lean protein... which could counter your loss progress.

In any case do weights before cardio in your workout routine.

All the best!
  • MinnieInMaine
    MinnieInMaine Posts: 6,400 Member
    Options
    There's no need to skip lifting weights while losing. While there is such a thing as newbie gains, you really can't gain muscle while on a calorie deficit so it shouldn't affect your weight loss. It will however, help you to mostly lose fat instead of both fat and muscle.