Who has done the couch to 5K program?

Options
jnv7594
jnv7594 Posts: 983 Member
edited February 2015 in Introduce Yourself
I love going for brisk walks and am wanting to transition into running. Has anyone else tried this app with good success? I was looking at it, and in week one it starts out with a 60 second jog after a 5 minute warm up walk. I don't know. Maybe I don't have enough faith in myself, but I'm not sure I could jog for 60 seconds, lol. I'm wondering if I can take a step back and start at 30 seconds and alternate between a 30 second jog and 90 second walk? Or is it best to just throw myself in there and shoot for 60 seconds? Thoughts or tips? I should mention that I have never run before, so I'm new to it. It's been a goal of mine since I started this, and now that my weight is down quite a bit, I'd like to start.

Replies

• jnv7594
    edited February 2015
    Options
    Whoops...wrong section. Just noticed I posted this in introductions. *sigh* Sorry.
  • kaetmarie
    kaetmarie Posts: 668 Member
    Options
    I'll answer here :smile: I did the C25K program a few years ago -- then stopped when I got pregnant with my son. I'm doing it again to get back into running now that he's one (yikes!). It's a great program and really helps you get into a running routine! When I first started, it was hard to keep up. Some times I repeated weeks. Just give it a try, repeat a week if you have to, and it'll definitely get you there!
  • tomsarno
    tomsarno Posts: 105 Member
    Options
    I did it and it is not that bad. The day that said jog for 20min. scared me but I lived. I finished it and now I am doing the 10k trainer also by Zen Labs. I am trying to do it faster then the 5k trainer. Feel free to ask any question I may be able to help with.
  • Angelfire365
    Angelfire365 Posts: 803 Member
    Options