Pilates, Yoga, and Running

Options
I am a beginner who is ready to start a major change. I have not been active consistently in about 2 years but have always loved pilates, I have also always wanted to run, and I like the idea of yoga. I think alternating them throughout the week would be very beneficial, but I don't know how many rest days would be good, as well as how many days of each I should do?

Any info or ideas are welcome!

Replies

• SueInAz
    SueInAz Posts: 6,592 Member
    Options
    You shouldn't run more often than every other day to let your body, especially your joints, rest and recover. You shouldn't do anything high-impact on the days between running as a result. I haven't done Pilates but I believe it's low-impact and I know yoga is, so they would be perfect to do on the days between or even the days you run, if you have that kind of time. You should build one day of rest into your week.
  • jgnatca
    jgnatca Posts: 14,464 Member
    Options
    My yoga-chi instructor calls Pilates "contortion" and Yoga "contortion with meditation". My physiotherapist says yoga is great for stretching out the ligaments. Safer running! You have a great combo there then. Run three times a week, alternating with pilates or yoga. Have one full rest day a week.
  • CrochetGator
    CrochetGator Posts: 23 Member
    Options
    Thank you so much!
  • kendingles
    Options
    Hi! Am trying to do this 7minute workout, a set of 13 rigorous calisthenics, and yoga together everyday... i just wanna get some advice if like running, pilates and yoga i should also alternate... am not really that good about work outs...
  • MeanderingMammal
    MeanderingMammal Posts: 7,866 Member
    Options
    For a newbie runner, then alternate days is about as much as you want to do. I was about a year into running before I went to consecutive days, and initially that was a bit of a beating for me.