So I finally got a food scale

Options
Some of the foods are shocking, I was WAY underestimating them. I also have the advantage of probably being a bit better at guessing then the average person. I am a analytical chemist and weigh/measure stuff all day.

While I was doing fairly well with out one I am really excited to use it going forward. It really is not that much of a pain. I do most of my cooking from scratch anyways. This way I can also make spot on recipe entries into MFP =).

Just wanted to say thanks to some of the members here that always mention getting a food scale, to others out there questioning if they should get one, you should!

Replies

• diannethegeek
    diannethegeek Posts: 14,776 Member
    Options
    I thought a food scale would be a big pain in the rear for the longest time. But once I got mine I found it was generally faster and less messy than my measuring cups had been. Plus, who doesn't want to feel like a mad scientist when they make breakfast every morning?
  • DataSeven
    DataSeven Posts: 245 Member
    Options
    The scale is a very valuable tool to me. Especially in weighing stuff like cheese and dry cereal that's hard to measure in cups.
  • esjones12
    esjones12 Posts: 1,363 Member
    Options
    It really does make things interesting! And the more you use it the better/faster you get :)
  • callsitlikeiseeit
    callsitlikeiseeit Posts: 8,627 Member
    Options
    jhall260 wrote: »
    Some of the foods are shocking, I was WAY underestimating them. I also have the advantage of probably being a bit better at guessing then the average person. I am a analytical chemist and weigh/measure stuff all day.

yuuuuuuuuuup makes a difference (but some people still refuse to believe it LOL)
  • MzShelleRenea
    MzShelleRenea Posts: 64 Member
    Options