Unnatural runner doing a half marathon

Options
I decided to set myself a fitness challenge so have signed up to a half marathon in September.

I have been running for about 18 months now and I'm still pretty slow and struggle to do anything more than 10km. I guess I really am not a natural runner!

Any others out there that really struggle with running but have gone on to do a half or full marathon?

Replies

• Aine8046
    Aine8046 Posts: 2,122 Member
    Options
    I did 5k twice, but nothing more than that. In fact, I was not running all winter and now doing c25k to run another 5k in May. So, even though I am even less of a runner than you, I am interested in 10k this fall too ! :)
  • WhatMeRunning
    WhatMeRunning Posts: 3,538 Member
    edited March 2015
    Options
    I think I might fit that description.

I was never a runner. I'm something of an accidental runner almost. I only started running because I was committed to losing weight and taking VERY long walks, and once I was accustomed to these long walks the only way I could challenge myself was doing something more, like running or biking. Running is free so I started with that.

I was regularly doing 6 mile walks before I started adding in a little running for short bursts during my walks. It was not long before I was going 6 miles with this mix of walking and running. So I signed up for a 10k since I was already going that distance regularly. Sort of a "bucket list" thing, I suppose.

I planned on walking an running that 10k, and started at the back of the pack. I paced myself with those runners and wound up running the whole 10k! I had never run a mile before that day, and here I just went and finished 6.2 miles nonstop! It was a huge thing mentally. It really proved a lot of things to me, most of all that I could push myself further than I thought possible.