Can someone explain "exercise" to me

Options
LOL, Yes, I know what it is but I am totally confused over how MFP tracks it.

I'm a newbie to MFP and definitely to exercise too. I'm going from a 95% sedentary lifestyle, hopefully to something better and I've set a goal of 6000 steps a day. I know that for most of you that is nothing but for me, if I can do it every day, it would be huge and I can work up to a higher number.

I try and get my steps in on an Elliptical machine. It's an old one without moving handlebars so just a lower body workout.

According to MFP a 45 minute workout should net me 765 calories yet the readout on the machine tells me 345.

So which one is it? I am going at about 110 steps per minute so nothing fast but it's a lot for me just starting out.

Replies

• Earthtokarmen
    Earthtokarmen Posts: 19 Member
    Options
    Probably neither is accurate. They are both giving you some sort of ball park without really being able to accurately calculate calories burned. I suspect the machine is closer in this case.
  • Mr_Knight
    Mr_Knight Posts: 9,532 Member
    edited March 2015
    Options
    Use the lower number. The MFP number assumes you're already very fit.

Even that may still be high...
  • fearlessleader104
    fearlessleader104 Posts: 723 Member
    Options
    I use 5 calories per minute when I'm going moderate to hard, and 10 calories per minute when I go hard to breathless. That has been working out for me in terms of accuracy regardeless of what the exercise is.
  • sweetpea03b
    sweetpea03b Posts: 1,124 Member
    Options
    Unfortunately unless you wear a HRM its going to be hard to know. Usually what I do in this case is go by the machine. If you think its a little low... guesstimate somewhere in the middle. If you have the funds, I definitely recommend getting a heart rate monitor. It takes a lot of guess work out of these situations.
  • Earthtokarmen
    edited March 2015
    Options