Advice on protein shakes please :)

Hi,
So my weightless journey is going well and I'm now looking to incorporate protein supplements to aid my muscle retention. I'm a 22 year old female looking for a protein shake that will help me retain the muscle I'm gaining. Does anyone have any advice on which products are best, in terms of value for money and the results they produce. Also how often should I take protein shakes etc. I'm a newbie so please advise. Thanks :smile:

Replies

• KarenJanine
    KarenJanine Posts: 3,497 Member
    A protein shake alone will not retain muscle - this requires strength training, along with adeqaute caloric and protein intake.

If you are already gaining muscle, then it is likely you are already doing the above.

Use protein shakes to supplement your diet if you struggle to meet your protein goals with food alone.
  • Roadie2000
    Roadie2000 Posts: 1,801 Member
    IMO for weight loss you should try to get all of your protein from food. Shakes just don't seem to fill me up as much or for as long as solid food. So it really depends on the rest of your diet. For instance if you are a vegetarian or something and struggle to fulfill your protein needs, but can spare a couple hundred extra calories than it may work for you. But if you have a more normal diet I would try to get more protein through food instead.
  • Walter__
    Walter__ Posts: 518 Member
    A protein shake alone will not retain muscle - this requires strength training, along with adeqaute caloric and protein intake.

If you are already gaining muscle, then it is likely you are already doing the above.

Use protein shakes to supplement your diet if you struggle to meet your protein goals with food alone.

^ Exactly this. She hit the nail on the head.
  • peachyfuzzle
    peachyfuzzle Posts: 1,122 Member