Should I use calories earned from exercise?

Options
I have been doing 1200 calories for 2 months and lost 20 pounds. I have started to exercise more, is there any harm in not using the "earned" calories from exercise?

Replies

• lostinwebspace
    lostinwebspace Posts: 99 Member
    Options
    General rule is if you're meeting your goals, change nothing. So if you've lost 20 pounds in 2 months (which seems excessive--that's more than 2 pounds a week), whatever you're doing, I wouldn't change...as long as your goal is to lose weight and your doctor says it's ok.

If you started to exercise more, I'd eat those back. I'll make some assumptions, and they're probably not true, but they'll illustrate a point, and you can fit them to your situation and see what the reality is.

You're eating 1,200 calories. If you're losing 2 pounds a week (I'm rounding), your maintenance is 2,200 calories a day.

Here's the assumption: Say you run for 45 minutes and burn 500 calories, but don't eat them back. You netted only 700 calories that day, which is less than a third of your maintenance calorie intake. That's unhealthy (and likely to cause you to indulge later, if you're the type). You'll end up losing too much lean body mass at the same time as fat mass because you're starving your body. I'd eat those calories back, but make sure it's high-nutrient stuff.

Besides...ever seen Austin Powers Goldmember? If you lose too much fat too quickly, your skin will end up having the same flaps as Fat *kitten* at the end of that movie. Don't want that. Slow and steady wins the race, no pun intended. Or maybe it was intended. Who knows. Point is, eat them back, but make sure you eat it back in good foods. And you might want to rethink your fat loss rate.
  • 999tigger
    999tigger Posts: 5,235 Member
    Options
    I would eat back 50% becayse the amount of calories you are on is already very low.
  • enterdanger
    enterdanger Posts: 2,447 Member
    Options