How did you stop binge eating?

Options
The title really says it all, for those of you who managed to overcome binge eating, how did you do it?

I've been working on losing weight for almost 5 years now (I'm 25), and it's been the same pattern over and over again. I do great for 6 months or so, get down to a new low weight, and then screw it all up by binging for several months. As of February of this year, I was down a total of 96 pounds (with still 100 lbs left to lose), and then started binge eating from stress. Almost two months later I'm still eating like crazy, and I haven't weighed during this time but I know I'm up at least 10 lbs.

I know no one is forcing me to eat, and it's up to me to just stop bingeing, but any tips? At all? I'm hating myself so much right now.

Replies

• Sarasari
    Sarasari Posts: 139 Member
    Options
    I figured out when I have to eat and stayed above getting hungry, so the need doesn't strike. I eat a cheese stick at 5 am before working out, breakfast between 7&8, a small snack at 10:00, lunch between 12-12:30, small snack at 3, dinner at 6:30. I plan my meal the night before, if I need to switch something during the day I will, but at least I know what I am having for dinner. If I used to binge eat because I was stressed I will channel it to exercise now. If I used to do it out of boredom I stay busy. I like to cook and watch food shows, so I used to binge during those shows, now I plan to slowly eat a meal or a snack during a show or make sure I am full, I can't watch the shows late at night anymore because I will want to eat again when I know I am done. I drink a lot of water and have a friend look over my food diary every day to keep me honest. And I pray a lot.
  • Coachconni
    Coachconni Posts: 42 Member
    Options
    I eat fiber in each meal. I make sure that I am full. It does mean heavier meals even at breakfast. If I go light, I'll eat all day not realizing the need for something substantial
  • missdollars661