Lacking motivation!

Options
Hi all, my name is Amanda. I have had myfitness pal for quite some time now. It was not until the scale tipped to 260 that I am really needing some motivation to shed these unwanted pounds. I am a mother of 3 and would like to see my children grow. I primarily want to be healthy not thin. I am also a nurse and should know better than to consume unhealthy foods. It is just very hard once your body has been introduced. I would greatly appreciate anyone willing to befriend me along this journey. Good luck! :)

Replies

• jckimbell
    jckimbell Posts: 114
    Options
    We can do it. Let's go. Get it and destroy it
  • Feistycat
    Feistycat Posts: 12,868 Member
    Options
    Hi Mandalopez. I've discovered that the very best weight loss motivation for me is to be single and looking for a Sweetie Pie. Since I'm 54 and happily & contentedly married for almost 25 years, I don't fit that demographic. Hence, I haven't found a powerful intrinsic motivator for weight loss in quite awhile.

When I suggested to my hubby that we might have for dinner: soup and salad, he said,: Salad :-( (much disappointment voiced), Well, hell.

In recap, I'm healthy, middle-aged, so why hould I strive to meet Hollywood's/ America's standards? Really. tell me. I have a rock-hard core with a protective coating on top ;-)
  • mandalopez08
    mandalopez08 Posts: 7
    edited March 2015
    Options
    @jckimbell‌ absolutely....only way to get it done....dive in head first! Lol. Even when I want to rely on my floaties! @Feistycat yes, being single and ready to mingle keeps the motivation at a all time high. I want to be loved for more than just my looks. And I have found that although I am at my heaviest (well to me anyway) I get hit on more!! Lol. Oddly! However I do agree with your outlook. Thank you for replying :)
  • PaulaWallaDingDong
    PaulaWallaDingDong Posts: 4,641 Member
    Options