Heart Rate Monitor

Options
Is buying a heart rate monitor worth it? I'm just getting into fitness.

Replies

• pbondegard
    pbondegard Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    I'm brand new too and I started with a $40 polar FT4. It has really helped me know where I need to be in my workouts and how hard I am pushing myself to keep in the zone. And I believe the calorie count is EXTREMELY more accurate than what MFP estimates. Also have a Fitbit charge HR my husband bought me for Valentine's Day and they both are usually within 5 bpm and calories of each other. Good luck!
  • javacofe
    javacofe Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    It depends on what is "worth it" to you?

I bought a £50ish Polar H7 which connects via Bluetooth to my phone. It's very convenient for finding out what your *ACTUAL* calorie excretion is during an exercise, but it's a tool at the end of the day, and tools are good for a purpose.

What I found was really interesting is that MFP under-reports my weight lifting workouts, it says that for a 60min workout I excert around 300kcal but it's usually between 890-910 for the sort of lifts I'm doing (squat/dead/bench -- multi-muscle lifts). This I found after a while was as much information as I needed and stopped wearing for the gym.

I still wear my HRM whenever I road cycling though, as I find it's a good meter of whether I'm actually "working" or if I'm just being lazy haha!

Hope that helps :)
  • Mr_Knight
    Mr_Knight Posts: 9,532 Member
    Options
    lauraldrum wrote: »

It depends on your expectations - what are you planning on using it for?
  • landfish
    landfish Posts: 255 Member
    Options
    Yes.
  • MeanderingMammal
    MeanderingMammal Posts: 7,866 Member
    Options

Probably not. Once you know what sports you enjoy and what your aspirations are then it might be useful.