Long work hours, little breaks - help?

Options
Hey everyone,

I am having a really hard time eating consistently throughout the day. I am a therapist so I am always working hands on with people and therefore it's hard to get small meals and or snacks in - sometimes even water intake is tough! So that means when I come home, I am eating everything or I have a big meal and feel bloated almost right into the next day.

I am normally really active but lately have fallen off that wagon as well which stresses me out. Aside from that, I also have some thyroid issues.

Overall, I just want to know what everyone else does to make this work?! I'm curious. I am starting to become really fed up with myself and it is entirely not motivating. :(

Replies

• pollypocket1021
    pollypocket1021 Posts: 533 Member
    Options
    Can you eat between patients or while doing paperwork? That's what I do, and everyone else I know.

Just adopt the first three rules of surgery:
    1. Eat when you can
    2. Sleep when you can
    3. Pee when you can

Pre-plan and pre-log. Meeting kcal goals is pretty simple. Spoon and a jar of peanut butter. 2 minute lunch.
  • lesliedias22
    lesliedias22 Posts: 30 Member
    Options
    Can you eat between patients or while doing paperwork? That's what I do, and everyone else I know.

Just adopt the first three rules of surgery:
    1. Eat when you can
    2. Sleep when you can
    3. Pee when you can

Pre-plan and pre-log. Meeting kcal goals is pretty simple. Spoon and a jar of peanut butter. 2 minute lunch.

Hahaha, very solid rules. Majority of my patients are back to back, and a lot of the time I chart at the end of my day. There are occasions where I can definitely snack between patients. Looks like I'm hiding a jar of peanut butter in my office!
  • RodaRose
    RodaRose Posts: 9,562 Member
    Options