Do I need to train for a 10k?

Options
I just signed up for my first ever race. I've been running on and off for a couple of years, I typically run 3-4 miles a couple of times a week. I intend on picking it up in preparation for the race, and will hopefully be running more like 3-5 miles three or four times a week. Is there anything else I need to do or know in order to prepare for this race?

Replies

• TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    You don't want to have run 10k before the race?
  • DianaLovesCoffee
    DianaLovesCoffee Posts: 398 Member
    Options
    Maybe check out Bridge to 10k. It is for those comfortable with 5k that want to go to 10k. Or maybe Hal Higdon's Beginner 10k plan.
  • jrline
    jrline Posts: 2,353 Member
    Options
    no that should work fine, I do a run/walk alternate and I never felt tired and got my last 10k in 56:35.

Good Luck
  • upsaluki
    upsaluki Posts: 553 Member
    Options
    A plan is always good to follow. There are a ton on the internet.
  • brandiuntz
    brandiuntz Posts: 2,717 Member
    Options
    I recommend following a plan and it's easy to find a free one. They wouldn't be much different than what you want to do...run 3 times a week at various distances. I have no doubt you'll be in good shape for the 10K.
  • beemerphile1
    beemerphile1 Posts: 1,710 Member
    Options
    If you run 3-5 miles a few times a week, you can run a 10K. However it may be a struggle, particularly if the temperature is hot.

If you have time it would be advisable to do a longer run once a week of 6-7 miles. Back off the week prior to the race.
  • scottb81
    scottb81 Posts: 2,538 Member
    Options
    What do you want to accomplish? If you just wat to finish then you don't need to do anything more. If you want to run your best then you need to do a lot more.
  • sngnyrslp
    sngnyrslp Posts: 315 Member
    Options
    scottb81 wrote: »