Food ideals

Options
Vieva91
Vieva91 Posts: 16 Member
okay, this is my first time trying to actually loose weight. I have an overall idea of what I should eat but I need help with food pairings and a variety! I need help! I'm at the gym often and I'd hate to work out for nothing

Replies

• AlabasterVerve
    AlabasterVerve Posts: 3,171 Member
    Options
    Food is such an individual thing it's hard to give recommendations. What I like might not be what you like. What's important is to log all of the food you eat accurately and stay within your calorie goal. Try and make the majority of your diet whole, nutrient dense foods (meat, vegetables etc.) -- but don't go out and buy a bunch of "healthy" foods you don't like just because that's what you think you should be eating -- stick to the foods you know you like to eat.
  • annette_15
    annette_15 Posts: 1,657 Member
    Options
    Stay within your calorie limit and for balance, try to include some protein, healthy fats and carbs into each meal for satiety
  • Need2Exerc1se
    Need2Exerc1se Posts: 13,575 Member
    Options
    I would look up some lower calorie recipes on sites like skinnytaste.com, eatingwell.com, allrecipes.com, etc. Reading through recipes is a great way to get common pairings of food.
  • TheLegendaryBrandonHarris
    Options
    I agree. I've been successful in eating healthier and enjoying what I eat by learning some fundamentals about nutrition. For instance, I can go to various food and recipe pages and look for new ideas, and when something looks interesting I'll go through the ingredients and make sure everything in it works for me.