Eating on a College Campus

Options
Hello everyone! I'm in my final year of college and have grown quite tired of the unhealthy food options at my school. I've been successful in losing about 35 lbs during my time at my university but I'm losing motivation to stay on track. I have access to a salad bar, a small kitchen, cooked protein (really only chicken), and the occasional string bean haha. I was wondering how other members have gotten creative with limited healthy options!

I would appreciate any suggestions!

Replies

• ncboiler89
    ncboiler89 Posts: 2,408 Member
    Options
    Open up the definition of healthy. Everything is healthy (in moderation) and everything is unhealthy (with no moderation).
  • lishie_rebooted
    lishie_rebooted Posts: 2,973 Member
    Options
    You can cook lots in a microwave and hot pot/coffee maker. If you're allowed those items of course. (You didn't say if you lived in the dorms or not plus college dorm rules vary)
  • mayaofmaryland
    mayaofmaryland Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    Healthy meaning foods that will nourish the body and give me a balanced intake of vitamins and essential oils/fats. Chicken strips and fries are not exactly doing this haha. And I do live in a residence that allows for microwaves. I also have a toaster and rice cooker. The communal kitchen I have access to has a fully functional stove and oven. I also have various cooking supplies such as pots and pans, cutlery, etc.
  • ncboiler89
    ncboiler89 Posts: 2,408 Member
    edited April 2015
    Options
    Healthy meaning foods that will nourish the body and give me a balanced intake of vitamins and essential oils/fats. Chicken strips and fries are not exactly doing this haha. And I do live in a residence that allows for microwaves. I also have a toaster and rice cooker. The communal kitchen I have access to has a fully functional stove and oven. I also have various cooking supplies such as pots and pans, cutlery, etc.