Fitbit wants me to eat 3500 calories a day to lose weight .... REALLY??

I posted recently about my Fitbit but I'm no clearer now than I was then, my apologies for yet another thread!!!

I have a Charge HR and have my Fitbit linked into MyFitnessPal. I have had my Fitbit for a week and I'm so confused about everything now.

My stats; Male, 31, 220lbs and 5'9. I have my settings in MyFitnessPal as sedentry and to lose 1.5lbs per week. I've calculated my BMR to be circa 2300.

On Saturday, I have a 13 hour day at a wedding, I'm a photographer, and my fitbit calorie burn was 4,514, 196 active minutes and 9,427 steps. MyFitnessPal has allocated me 1800 calories at sedentry and 1.5lbs per week setting, given the fitbit info it added an adjustment of 2,096 calories meaning in total I was allowed to eat 3,896 calories and still maintain the necessary 750 calorie deficit.

Today, I played golf, it's just after midnight in the UK, I've burned 4,220 calories, taken 15,606 steps and had 194 active minutes. Again the adjustment into MyFitnessPal is 1,863 meaning I could eat 3,663 calories.

I'm so confused here, because there is no way I could ever actually eat that many?!?! Plus, as far as I'm aware, 1lb = 3500 calories......

I was losing eating 1800 calories allocated by MFP, I thought the fitbit would help to make this easier instead it seems to be adding a massive headache!!

Replies

• shadow2soul
    shadow2soul Posts: 7,692 Member
    You do realize your BMR is the calories you burn before activity. I don't understand why you think it's impossible. I see you keep posting questions about it and people have given you advice and even told you it's entirely plausible.

How much weight have you lost? Over what time period? About what was your average intake for that time period?
  • MartinWardPhoto
    MartinWardPhoto Posts: 10 Member