Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis (JRA)

Options
I am fairly new to this app but believe it tube very userfriendly. I was diagnosed with JRA when I was nine and am now 35 and am working a great full-time job as a study coordinator at Mayo Clinic in The Department of Rheumatology. My goal is to lose weight and gain strength to aid in a functional quality of life and reduce my stress level. I feel motivated to make my changes suitae to my everyday life. I don't want to do something that's just temporary. I also wish to provide others with RA or JRA with inspiration to get out of bed each day even with the utmost of pain and fatigue. I also wish to educate the general public about the disease and the challenges we face.

Replies

• Elf_Princess1210
    Elf_Princess1210 Posts: 895 Member
    Options
    Hi Mplagge9940, I am newly diagnosed with RA and am so glad to see this on MFP! When the GP diagnosed me and referred me to my rheumatologist I was scared, and angry, and confused; I thought I would have to give up being a nurse and that I was doomed to be in a wheelchair.
  • Larissa_NY
    Larissa_NY Posts: 495 Member
    Options
    Hi Mplagge9940, I am newly diagnosed with RA and am so glad to see this on MFP! When the GP diagnosed me and referred me to my rheumatologist I was scared, and angry, and confused; I thought I would have to give up being a nurse and that I was doomed to be in a wheelchair.

I thought the same thing when I was diagnosed a few years ago. Thank God for advances in medical technology. I got into lifting to keep one step ahead of rheumatoid cachexia and it turned out to be a lot of fun.

• billiebutton
    billiebutton Posts: 49 Member
    Options
    What a great idea for a topic. I do not have JRA or RA but, one of my best friends has JRA. I actually interviewed her for a research project I did in my Health Psychology class years ago. It was very interesting learning all about it. Good luck to all of you on your fitness and health journey.