When to switch to maintenance/recomp?

Options
I'm 5' 2" and weigh 107 pounds, which puts me at a BMI of 19.6 (but on a small frame). I do some cardio (running) and am about to start learning to lift in the next two weeks.

My initial plan was to continue at a deficit until I was about 102 (low end of a healthy BMI at 18.5) and then start eating at a small surplus as I started lifting.

The number on the scale isn't important to me, and I'm pretty much at the size I'd like to be... I'd just like it to be a little less squishy all around.

Does that seem like a reasonable strategy? Or will I start putting on that "beginner's" muscle when I start lifting, and never actually hit my goal weight, and then stall out because I'm not eating enough to lift?

Or (most likely): Am I overthinking this?

Replies

• joepratt503
    joepratt503 Posts: 191 Member
    Options
    definitely overthinking. Losing weight quickly is hard to maintain and requires significant effort all the way through...where it may be true that keeping a deficit will keep you losing (generally) its 35 days @ 100 deficit to lose a pound.

My thought is that when I cannot get .5 a week without serious macro control and feeling hungry and/or fatigued is when I will stop my cut and start reversing into maintenance and then into bulk to start again next Jan.

Your "newbie" gains aren't going to put on a pound a week and it may be negligible depending on HOW you are planning on lifting when you do...so just find a spot where you like the way you look and feel, stabilize there, and then plan the next move :)

Good luck!!
  • DancingMoosie
    DancingMoosie Posts: 8,619 Member
    Options
    I would just try to start lifting and eating at maintenance. See how that works for at least a month, then re-evaluate based on results.
  • gemmamummy
    gemmamummy Posts: 185 Member
    Options