How are people burning so many cals?

Options
hi,

So I'm fairly new to exercise. I've always danced and took to jogging last year, but at the gym I struggle. From a few PT sessions I've learnt some good weight exercises but even when combining these with cardio I'm still only burning 2-300 cals before I burn out or my hours up.
How are people burning 500+ ?
How do u calculate calories burned from weights? Am I just lazy?

Replies

• lilRicki
    lilRicki Posts: 4,555 Member
    Options
    You aren't lazy...nobody burns the same. I average 400 calories in the gym and I'm overweight.
  • str8bowbabe
    str8bowbabe Posts: 712 Member
    Options
    I depends on what I am doing but I average 300 -400 per session.
  • rhtexasgal
    rhtexasgal Posts: 572 Member
    Options
    I don't try to estimate my calories burned from weight training. I only enter my cardio and I easily burn about 450 calories in a 30-40 minute session on the elliptical. The machine will actually say about 480-500 calories but I always subtract calories before I log them because the machines are never accurate and often over-estimate calories.
  • lilRicki
    lilRicki Posts: 4,555 Member
    Options
    if you log it under weightlifting in MFP, it will still underestimate due to the fact that you're still burning. It's a really low number, but it gives me a reason to have a square of chocolate lol
  • ASKyle
    ASKyle Posts: 1,475 Member
    Options
    When you see HUGE burns nearing the 1000 range, the answer would be... they're not burning that many cals.

It really depends on weight and height. But, is better to underestimate, than to overestimate your burn and eat back more than you should.
  • Ready2Rock206
    Ready2Rock206 Posts: 9,488 Member
    Options