Yoga Beginner - Looking For Advice

Options
Hi all.

I have been really thinking about practising yoga and making it a part of my fitness regime in the long term, to help keep me focused and keep me toned, etc.

Although I own the 2 Jillian Michaels power yoga dvds, I am a complete novice to this form of exercise.

I don't have much opportunity to get out of the house to a class so I am looking for some recommendations on the best dvds, and even books, for beginners to yoga, to help me on my way.

I am in the UK - just in case.

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• TheVirgoddess
    TheVirgoddess Posts: 4,535 Member
    edited April 2015
    Options
    Yoga with Adriene on YouTube.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQ6NfFIr2jw

She has yoga for beginners, a 30 day yoga challenge and all sorts of helpful, amazing stuff.
  • eseeton
    eseeton Posts: 80 Member
    Options
    ^ YES.
    I love Yoga with Adriene. I started out with her beginners videos and slowly moved into her vinyasa sessions and flows. I love her new power yoga video as well, keeps the heart rate up and is a great leg workout.
    I believe fitness blender also has yoga videos, although I've never used them.

Yoga is meant to be a life practice, so don't worry about mastering it right away. Also, the Jillian Michaels power yoga videos are much more of a workout than a yoga session - but if that is what you want, go for it!

Channeling Adriene - "Find What Feels Good!" :smiley:
  • ValkyriesCharge
    ValkyriesCharge Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    I highly recommend trying to get to at least a few classes! Your body may need modifications for certain poses, and in-person feedback is really important to getting the most out of it as well as avoiding injury. Then take that feedback with you to your home practice. :)
  • sofaking6
    sofaking6 Posts: 4,589 Member
    Options