Weightlifting Hunger?

Options
I've been doing cardio for a few months and have very recently started weightlifting after my usual cardio. What would happen after I did cardio was I would log an incorrect amount of time to get a calorie burn on MFP matching what the treadmill said I burned. I would add those calories, but only allow myself to eat up to my goal (I try to keep stay about 200 under, which is pretty easy for me with a goal of 1530). This wouldn't be a huge issue since my appetite didn't change much, but would occasionally eat up to around 1500.
Now that I'm doing strength (various bodyweight exercises, sometimes with weights or medicine balls, also a trip or two around all the machines with about 3 reps of 10 on each with the lowest weight setting), my calorie burn isn't increasing, but my appetite is.
I have not been this hungry in so long.
I know to build muscle, I need to eat more than I burn, but bulking isn't my goal, weight loss is. I just know that combining cardio and strength yields the best results of fat loss and a little muscle build. I'm not opposed to building muscle, but my primary goal is fat loss and a little bit of muscle definition would be nice.
I'm also having a difficult time mentally allowing myself to eat to my goal, since it's been my philosophy to have a substantial deficit and has been working well so far.
I'm not sure if this is in the right category, but muscly people, please help.
Thanks!

Replies

• nossmf
    nossmf Posts: 9,472 Member
    Options
    I lift, I get hungry. Perfectly normal response. Try increasing protein; it satisfies the muscle cravings and helps keep you feeling full for longer. By backing off on carbs you don't have to increase overall calories to get this effect.

You're a woman, unless you TRY ON PURPOSE to build muscle you generally won't. (Occasional genetics aside.) You will be simply improving the muscle you do have with a casual lifting program.
  • LovelyIvy466