RN working night shift

Options
bugaic
bugaic Posts: 2 Member
Hey! My name is Crystal and I'm a nurse who recently switched to working 12 hour nights. On my nights where I need to stay awake I constantly eat snacks to keep me awake and I started drinking coffee. I have been feeling gross and I'm heading down a destructive path to gaining unwanted lbs.
When I get home from work in the mornings I am exhausted and have no motivation to work out. Anyone else in the same boat??? I would love to hear from you!

Replies

• deviboy1592
    deviboy1592 Posts: 989 Member
    Options
    I was just like you, 6 cups of coffee a day, getting barely any sleep and eating whatever I could get my hands on hoping that I could stay awake. I switched to better eating choices, cut the coffee back to 1-2 cups a day, and felt a lot better. I now switched to days so my problems basically have gone away. But I have noticed, ( maybe you have as well) the more coffee I drank the more exhausted I've felt. How about you?
  • jshepl
    jshepl Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    Hey me too. I am a RN in a busy PICU. 12 hr shifts. Feel free to add me as a friend. I have been doing this for many years and only now am I in the best shape of my life. I would love to help make it easier for my midnight friends.
  • WSOX37
    WSOX37 Posts: 1,611 Member
    Options
    Midnights take a toll on the body just try to stick to your sleep patterns and force yourself to the gym in the morning
  • DakotaEasbey
    DakotaEasbey Posts: 6 Member
    Options
    Yep! Pre-Med here. I was staying up all night, drinking a ridiculous amount of coffee, and snacking like there's no tomorrow haha. It's funny that so much of what I did for "energy" just drained me. I heard eating a large apple is more energizing than a cup of coffee. Who knows if that's true but I'm willing to try haha.
  • bugaic
    bugaic Posts: 2 Member
    Options