My Success So Far on Keto/HF Diet

Options
Hi!

I am Josh. I am 28, 5'9", 190 lbs (and losing), I am 21 lbs from being in my "healthy weight range."

I have been eating a mostly high fat diet for the past 7 months, consisting of 72% fat macros. I have stuck to it about 65% of the time on record. Up until 7 months ago, I have struggled to lose any kind of weight to get me below 200 lbs. I quit smoking in October 2012, put on weight because of it, up to 230 lbs. I got myself back down to 210-ish in the summer of 2013, but then just hung around there for about a year or so.

I started following a ketogenic diet, monitoring ketones and achieving nutritional ketosis. I did a lot of reading, and pretty soon, nutritional science became a scholarly hobby for me. I learned what information is generally incorrect, although it got passed by the masses as true.

I am posting legitimate results from a legitimate lab. I am also leaving a disclaimer that I have no genetic predispositions, have had no diseases, and work out intensely. Nonetheless, here is my success so far:

Weight: down from 206 lbs to 190 lbs in 7 months. That difference could be greater if I had greater consistency in my diet.

Fitness: I can cycle harder, run faster, go farther than I ever have in my entire life.

Bloodwork, fasted 9 hours:

Cholesterol-
Total: 170 mg/dL (extremely desirable range)
HDL: 48 mg/dL ( 40-60 is normal)
LDL: 103 mg/dL (3 points off optimal range of <100)

Triglycerides: 93 mg/dL (less than 150 is normal)

Glucose: 83 mg/dL (normal range)

If anyone has experienced these results, please share! Also, if you are curious about it, don't hesitate to ask! I hope all are having great success with their methods.

Cheers!

Replies

• kristenlarkin
    kristenlarkin Posts: 235 Member
    Options
    Congrats! I also am doing a keto diet. I love it
  • Asharp22
    Asharp22 Posts: 18 Member
    Options