Need Help

Options
Monna2
Monna2 Posts: 100 Member
A lot of people recommend the slow and steady method. This means that it would nearly take me two years to lose 120 pounds. Every time I start dieting, I fail and give up. I can't stand seeing my reflection when I'm shopping at the mall. I can't even think about starting a relationship with a guy. I tend to feel that they don't even know I'm alive.
How did you guys learn how to accept yourself while still being on the journey? I don't love the way I look. I'm 28. My face is almost 22.. but my body is even over 50 :(

Replies

• astrampe
    astrampe Posts: 2,169 Member
    Options
    Start doing some sort of fitness activity, be it running, dance classes, a sport like fencing or whatever....Something where you can concentrate on the little gains you make, the accomplishments, the fun, and forget how you look.... I took a running class for complete beginners when I started at 227lbs.... It was hard, it was fun, and it got me hooked onto something other than obsessing about my weight....
    And make peace with the fact that your looks won't change overnight - that onlyhappens in fairy tales, and this is real life! Good luck!
  • adoud1
    adoud1 Posts: 17 Member
    Options
    I know it can seem like an overwhelming amount of weight to lose, but it can be done, you just have to stick with it. Some days may be slow and some quicker, but it WILL come off. Keep an image of where you want to go within eye site to remind you what you're working for. My husband lost 110 lbs in one year, but he was extremely motivated and wanted the weight off desperately. He ate fruits and vegetables and lean chicken breast everyday. You can do it Monna!! Hang in there!
  • HealthSculptures
    HealthSculptures Posts: 4 Member
    Options