New to weight loss

Options
Hi,

I am new to weight loss. I have been always a lean person, never had to worry about what I am eating and how much I am exercising. Though I always loved yoga aerobics and dancing. Never liked going to gym. If I go there I end up doing cardio only.
Now for last couple of months I had to work from home, so my activity level went really down. I remain at home whole day, sitting working on my laptop and eating to overcome loneliness without realizing what I was doing. Now sadly I have gained weight around tummy and butts. I feel so bad looking at myself in the mirror.

I have controlled some of my over eating. But I have no idea what else I can do. I try to follow some of excercise youtube videos 3-4 times a week 30-40 mins, but I am not sure if thats helping me. Today going through some of the posts on this forum, they say only cardio will not help. Please let me know what else should I be doing.

Replies

• Tubbs216
    Tubbs216 Posts: 6,597 Member
    Options
    Exercise alone won't make you lose weight - eating at a calorie deficit will. You need to eat less than your body burns.
    Start by reading the stickies at the top of the Getting Started forum - you will get a lot of great information there.
    Good luck!
  • meenumeenu4
    meenumeenu4 Posts: 6 Member
    Options
    Thanks Tubbs, I will read all of them !
  • barryplumber
    barryplumber Posts: 401 Member
    Options
    Losing weight is 20% excersise and 80% what you eat. The 20% excersise just gives you a little room for a few more calories. The bottom line is calorie deflict is the only thing that works
  • mwyvr
    mwyvr Posts: 1,883 Member
    Options
    Today going through some of the posts on this forum, they say only cardio will not help. Please let me know what else should I be doing.

Frankly, that's BS.

To lose weight, you must eat fewer calories than you use = a deficit.