Best Weights for the job

Options
Hi all
Not sure where to start with weights - I am doing a lot of walking on the treadmill and wanted to try and multi task by using some weights to tone up my arms, shoulders back etc while I walk. I am not sure what to buy in terms of weight - I would say my arm strenghth is zero. I have seen a set of dumbells which are 0.5, 1 and 1.5kg (two of each) - would this be a good investment to start and carry on with

Any advice would be appreciated

thanks

Gillian

Replies

• TrainingWithTonya
    TrainingWithTonya Posts: 1,741 Member
    Options
    As a trainer, I don't recommend walking with weights just because you can't go heavy enough to do much good for the muscles. You'd be better off getting something a little heavier and doing some bicep curls and triceps extensions before your walking. That way you work the arm muscles in a full range of motion instead of the static hold of a 90 degree bend of the elbow like you see so many walkers doing. Plus going a little heavier can actually cause the physiological changes in the muscle that give you definition and extra calorie burn. Even 5 minutes of weight training with a heavy enough weight will be beneficial. As for the weight to get, pick them up before you buy. Do a set of 8-12. If you can do that many and not feel like the last one is tough, then the weight is too light for you. Over time, you will need to go up in weight too, so I wouldn't recommend spending a ton on the first set of weights because you will out grow it.
  • xraychick77
    xraychick77 Posts: 1,775 Member
    Options
    there is no such thing as TONE. toning is really muscle definition..to do this you must lose fat..to see muscle you must have muscles.

to gain muscle you must do heavy lifting and eat above your maintenance calories. to lose fat you must do cardio and eat below them.