Started at 407... finally hit 359.2 today!

Options
I started this journey weighing in at 407 lbs. I felt so depressed and hopeless. My legs were so swollen I could barely walk. My blood pressure was so high I felt like I was going to explode in my face, chest, arms and legs. I had headaches daily. Pain everywhere and all of the time. I am a registered nurse and lost hold of my career to wind up in a wheelchair. I also developed severe plaque psoriasis over the years causing my depression to worsen and forcing me into isolating in my home because I was embarrassed of my skin and felt like a leper.

For the past few years my household had started focusing more on the foods we consume. We switched to only free range meat about 5 years ago. More and more organics made there way into my kitchen as well. Last year my college aged son started reading labels and researching the meanings behind the long ingredients that were not part of our daily vocabulary. He discovered that there is so much hidden in the processed foods we eat. These hidden (disguised) ingredients include things like fat, sodium and sugar as well as a lot of gross stuff like bugs and human hair extracts. It's no wonder you continue to struggle with weight loss even when you think you are buying healthy stuff.

We finally decided if it's processed by someone else it is not good for us. My son went through all the kitchen cabinets, pantry and refrigerator/freezer and threw everything that was processed away. We shop very carefully now buying mostly fresh fruits, veggies, lean chicken and beef, low fat milk and dairy and always cage free/free range AND grass fed meats and eggs.